IndyCar > 2009 Round 01: St. Petersburg > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.April 4, 2009
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 01: Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg

Rahal Rules St. Petersburg Qualifying

Race Results >>

After setting a new record as the youngest winner in IndyCar Series history last year on the streets of St.Petersburg, Florida, Graham Rahal has now added "youngest pole qualifier" to his list of accomplishments, as he bested a 21 challengers Saturday in qualifying for Sunday's Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

Rahal edged his former Newman Haas Lanigan Racing teammate, Justin Wilson, by just five hundredths of a second in the third and final round of IndyCar's knockout qualifying, but Wilson and his Dale Coyne Racing team could take pride in the best qualifying effort to date for the small, suburban Chicago-based organization, which has been a mainstay in American open wheel racing for more than two decades. Tony Kanaan qualified third for Andretti Green Racing, with Ryan Briscoe fourth. Fifth-fastest Dario Franchitti and Will Power in sixth rounded out the final round of qualifiers.

Sunday's 100-lap season-opening race starts at 2:45 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on The Versus Network starting with a pre-race show at 2 p.m.

Graham Rahal (#02 McDonalds Newman Haas Lanigan Racing Honda) pole qualifier, 1st IndyCar Series pole, youngest pole qualifier in IndyCar Series history (20 years, 90 days):
“It's an exciting day for me and a great day for the whole McDonalds team. I obviously love St. Pete. It was good to me last year and it's great to be on the pole this year. We made some changes to the car prior to qualifying, and didn't know what to expect. But the car was good, the guys on my crew were working hard and it's great to be on top. I guess this place treats me pretty well.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 01: Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg
1 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
2 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
3 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
4 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
5 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
6 Will Power (Team Penske)
7 Alex Tagliani (Conquest Racing)
8 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
9 Rafael Matos (Luczo Dragon Racing)
10 Darren Manning (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
11 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
12 Mike Conway (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
13 Robert Doornbos (Newman Haas Lanigan)
14 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Vision Racing)
15 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
16 E.J. Viso-R (HVM Racing)
17 Vitor Meira (A.J. Foyt Racing)
18 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
19 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
20 Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
21 Stanton Barrett-R (Team 3G)
22 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.