IndyCar > 2008 Round 18: Surfers Paradise > Race Results
INDYAustraliaOctober 25, 2008
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 18: Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Power Storms to Surfers Pole

Race Results >>

Queensland’s own Will Power thrilled a large, enthusiastic crowd Saturday in Surfers Paradise, Australia, qualifying on the pole for Sunday’s Nikon Indy 300. On a constantly changing track – the result of a brief rain shower shortly before the start of qualifying – Power dominated on a wet but drying surface to secure the pole on his final timed lap.

It was Power’s third consecutive pole at Surfers Paradise, as he also qualified fastest in the 2006 and 2007 Champ Car World Series races here. But the native of nearby Toowoomba is still looking for his first Surfers Paradise race victory. Newly crowned IndyCar Champion Scott Dixon will start on the outside of the first row in second, with Team Penske’s Ryan Briscoe third and series returnee Dario Franchitti founding out the top four.

Will Power (Team Australia/KV Racing Technology Honda) pole qualifier:
“It was quite a difficult session, to be honest, with the track starting out half wet and half dry, then gradually turning dry. I’ve been in this position twice before, but luck hasn’t gone our way. Hopefully we can get it done this time.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 18: Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia
1 Will Power (KV Racing Technologies)
2 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
3 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
4 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
5 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Rahal Letterman Racing)
6 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
7 Alex Tagliani (Conquest Racing)
8 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
9 Justin Wilson (Newman Haas Lanigan)
10 E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
11 Vitor Meira (A.J. Foyt Enterprises)
12 Mario Moraes (Dale Coyne Racing)
13 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
14 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
15 Oriol Servia (KV Racing Technologies)
16 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
17 Bruno Junqueira (Dale Coyne Racing)
18 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
19 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
20 Jaime Camara (Conquest Racing)
21 Townsend Bell (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
22 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
23 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
24 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· Australia

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.