IndyCar > 2008 Round 15: Infineon > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.August 23, 2008
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 15: Infineon Raceway, Sonoma

Castroneves Claims Pole at Infineon

Race Results >>

Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe qualified 1-2 Saturday at Infineon Raceway in preparation for Sunday’s Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma County, the team’s third consecutive 1-2 roadcourse qualifying performance this year. Although winless in 2008, Castroneves is second in the drivers’ championship, 78 points behind leader Scott Dixon, who will start fifth tomorrow.

Australian driver Will Power qualified third with his teammate, Oriol Servia, sixth, as KV Racing continues to improve as the season progresses. Tony Kanaan, still with a mathematical chance at the ’08 title, qualified fourth. Sunday’s 80-lap race, IndyCar’s third and final natural road-course event this season, starts at 5:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ESPN.

Helio Castroneves (#3 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, 3rd pole of 2008 and record-extending 26th career IndyCar pole:
“It was a big fight today, especially with [teammate] Ryan [Briscoe], and we really had to work hard. But starting first is a big deal here, and we had a great car. It’s another great rebound for our entire team. We still need to go for it tomorrow to have a chance in the championship.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 15: Infineon Raceway, Sonoma
1 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
2 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
3 Will Power (KV Racing Technologies)
4 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
5 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
6 Oriol Servia (KV Racing Technologies)
7 Justin Wilson (Newman Haas Lanigan)
8 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Rahal Letterman Racing)
9 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
10 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
11 Mario Dominguez (Pacific Coast Motorsports)
12 Mario Moraes (Dale Coyne Racing)
13 Bruno Junqueira (Dale Coyne Racing)
14 E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
15 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
16 Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi)
17 Tomas Scheckter (Luczo Dragon Racing)
18 Vitor Meira (Panther Racing)
19 Townsend Bell (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
20 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
21 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Racing)
22 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
23 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
24 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
25 Marty Roth (Roth Racing)
26 Jaime Camara (Conquest Racing)
27 Enrique Bernoldi (Conquest Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.