IndyCar > 2008 Round 14: Kentucky > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.August 8, 2008
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 14: Kentucky Speedway, Kentucky

Dixon Again on the Pole at Kentucky

Race Results >>

For the sixth time this season, Scott Dixon qualified on the pole Friday for Saturday night’s Kentucky Indy 300 as the Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver and IndyCar Series points leader continues to dominated the 2008 season. It is Dixon’s 13th career IndyCar Series pole, tying him for second on the all-time list with Greg Ray. Helio Castroneves, who qualified sixth tonight, leads the list with 25 career poles.

Panther Racing’s Vitor Meira will start second after his best qualifying performance of 2008, with Dixon’s teammate Dan Wheldon third and rookie points leader Hideki Mutoh, fourth. An apparent suspension problem in the final practice sent Danica Patrick heavily into the Turn Two wall. Patrick was uninjured, but missed qualifying as a result and will start on the last row. Bruno Junqueira also missed qualifying as his Dale Coyne Racing team performed major setup changes to his Honda Dallara after practice and missed the call to the qualifying line. He will start at the rear of the 26-car field. Saturday’s 200-lap race “twilight” race starts at 6:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ESPN2.

Scott Dixon (#9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) pole qualifier, 6th pole of 2008 and 13th career pole:
“I definitely have to thank my guys. They did a great job of prepping the car and it was very quick right out of the trailer today. We changed very little all day long. It was set up so well that all I had to do was stand on the gas and turn left. But I think you can win from any starting position at this track. Firestone has brought us a very grippy, consistent tire and, as a result, I think you’re going to see a return to ‘pack’ racing here tomorrow night. It should be a great race.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 14: Kentucky Speedway, Kentucky
1 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
2 Vitor Meira (Panther Racing)
3 Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi)
4 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
5 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
6 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
7 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
8 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
9   Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
10 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
11 Marty Roth (Roth Racing)
12 Oriol Servia (KV Racing Technologies)
13 Will Power (KV Racing Technologies)
14 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Rahal Letterman Racing)
15 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
16 Sarah Fisher (Sarah Fisher Racing)
17 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Racing)
18 Milka Duno (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
19 Justin Wilson (Newman Haas Lanigan)
20 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
21 E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
22 Jaime Camara (Conquest Racing)
23 Mario Moraes (Dale Coyne Racing)
24 Enrique Bernoldi (Conquest Racing)
25 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
26 Bruno Junqueira (Dale Coyne Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.