IndyCar > 2008 Round 13: Edmonton > Qualifying
INDYCanadaJuly 25, 2008
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 13: Edmonton City Centre Airport, Edmonton

Team Penske Stays on Top in Edmonton Qualifying

Race Results >>

Team Penske drivers Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe dominated Firestone “Fast Six” final qualifying Saturday at the Rexall Edmonton Indy, repeating their performance from last week at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, this time with Briscoe on the pole and Castroneves second. Oriol Servia will start third for KV Racing, followed by IndyCar Series points leader Scott Dixon in fourth. Last year’s pole qualifier for the Champ Car race here, Will Power, will start fifth.

Justin Wilson made the “Firestone Fast Six” final round on speed, but was unable to take part when he crashed without injury on his final lap in the second round. For the first time in the three-year history of IndyCar Series road racing, Tony Kanaan failed to make the final six qualifying round, and will start at the rear of the field after his spin in the opening qualifying round necessitated an engine change for the race. Sunday’s race starts at 5 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ESPN.

Ryan Briscoe (#6 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, 2nd pole of 2008 and 3rd career IndyCar pole:
"Wow, we had to work for that one. It was unbelievable. It was a thrash just getting INTO the top six, we only just got in [to the fast six]. But once we were there, the car was just awesome. It’s another great day for Team Penske, our fourth consecutive pole this season."

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 13: Edmonton City Centre Airport, Edmonton
1 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
2 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
3 Oriol Servia (KV Racing Technologies)
4 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
5 Will Power (KV Racing Technologies)
6 Justin Wilson (Newman Haas Lanigan)
7 Bruno Junqueira (Dale Coyne Racing)
8 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
9   Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi)
10 Mario Moraes (Dale Coyne Racing)
11 Enrique Bernoldi (Conquest Racing)
12 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
13 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Rahal Letterman Racing)
14 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
15 Paul Tracy (Vision Racing)
16 Vitor Meira (Panther Racing)
17 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
18 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Racing)
19 Mario Dominguez (Pacific Coast Motorsports)
20 EJ Viso (HVM Racing)
21 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
22 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
23 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
24 Townsend Bell (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
25 Marty Roth (Roth Racing)
26 Jaime Camara (Conquest Racing)
27 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· Canada

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.