IndyCar > 2008 Round 12: Mid-Ohio > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.July 19, 2008
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 12: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Mid-Ohio

All-Penske Front Row at Mid-Ohio

Race Results >>

Team Penske drivers Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe dominated Firestone “Fast Six” final qualifying Saturday at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course and will start from the front row in Sunday’s Honda Indy 200. After starting last two weeks ago at Watkins Glen due to a broken throttle cable in first-round qualifying, Castroneves edged teammate Briscoe by less than two-tenths of a second to claim the pole.

Fastest in practice on Friday, Marco Andretti will start third, with Justin Wilson alongside in fourth. Tony Kanaan qualified fifth, with IndyCar Series championship points leader Scott Dixon rounding out the top six. Sunday’s 85-lap race starts at 1:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ABC.

Helio Castroneves (#3 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, 2nd pole of 2008 and 25th career IndyCar pole:
“What a great team effort, not only from me, but from all the guys on Team Penske. I’m extremely happy. When you have great first-class people, and both cars are exactly the same, then Ryan and I can really push each other and that’s what happened today. It’s a great comeback from [qualifying problems at] Watkins Glen. We have a great car, and a great team, we’re going to keep working hard and see if we can catch [Scott] Dixon in the [championship] points.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 12: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Mid-Ohio
1 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
2 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
3 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
4 Justin Wilson (Newman Haas Lanigan)
5 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
6 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
7 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
8 Oriol Servia (KV Racing Technologies)
9 Bruno Junqueira (Dale Coyne Racing)
10 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
11 Vitor Meira (Panther Racing)
12 Will Power (KV Racing Technologies)
13   Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi)
14 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
15 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Rahal Letterman Racing)
16 Mario Dominguez (Pacific Coast Motorsports)
17 EJ Viso (HVM Racing)
18 Enrique Bernoldi (Conquest Racing)
19 Mario Moraes (Dale Coyne Racing)
20 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
21 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Racing)
22 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
23 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
24 Marty Roth (Roth Racing)
25 Jaime Camara (Conquest Racing)
26 Milka Duno (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.