IndyCar > 2008 Round 11: Nashville > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.July 11, 2008
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 11: Nashville Superspeedway, Nashville


Race Results >>

And the last shall become first. Helio Castroneves, who qualified 26th and last at Watkins Glen one week ago due to a broken throttle cable, claimed the pole in qualifying Friday at Nashville Superspeedway in preparation for Saturday night’s Firestone Indy 200. It was the first pole of 2008 for Castroneves, but continued an streak of eight consecutive seasons with at least one pole for the Team Penske driver.

Danica Patrick will start on the outside of the first row, in second. Already a winner this year at the Honda-owned Twin Ring Motegi circuit, Patrick has historically been a strong performer in Nashville with previous results including a third last year, fourth in 2006 and seventh in her ‘05 debut on the unique 1.33-mile concrete paved Nashville oval.

Rookie points leader Hideki Mutoh will start third, his best IndyCar qualifying performance, with last weekend’s race winner Ryan Hunter-Reay rounding out the first two rows of the starting field in fourth. Saturday’s 200-lap race starts at 8:00 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ESPN.

Helio Castroneves (#3 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, first pole of 2008 and 24th career IndyCar pole:
“Awesome. That’s the only way I can describe it. Getting the pole here feels fantastic, especially after we had so many problems last weekend at Watkins Glen. The car feels incredible and I’m really enthused about our chances in the race tomorrow night. It’s difficult to pass here, so the race is going to be tough. I’m glad I’m starting from the front!”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 11: Nashville Superspeedway, Nashville
1 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
2 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
3 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
4 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Rahal Letterman Racing)
5 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
6   Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi)
7 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
8 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
9 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
10 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
11 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
12 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
13 Justin Wilson (Newman Haas Lanigan)
14 Will Power (KV Racing Technologies)
15 Vitor Meira (Panther Racing)
16 Milka Duno (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
17 Oriol Servia (KV Racing Technologies)
18 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Racing)
19 Enrique Bernoldi (Conquest Racing)
20 Mario Moraes (Dale Coyne Racing)
21 Marty Roth (Roth Racing)
22 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
23 Bruno Junqueira (Dale Coyne Racing)
24 Jaime Camara (Conquest Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.