IndyCar > 2008 Round 09: Richmond > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.June 27, 2008
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 09: Richmond International Raceway, Richmond

Kanaan Bounces Back To Take Richmond Pole

Race Results >>

After crashing while challenging for the lead in the final laps last weekend at Iowa Speedway, Tony Kanaan rebounded in the best way possible Friday night at Richmond International Raceway, qualifying on the pole for Saturday night's SunTrust Indy Challenge. Kanaan edged teammate Marco Andretti to give Andretti Green Racing the seventh 1-2 IndyCar Series qualifying effort in team history.

Rookie Graham Rahal, already a winner this year at the Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, continues to show strong form on the short tracks, qualifying third tonight in addition to a second-place qualifying run last month at Milwaukee. Series points leader Scott Dixon will start fourth, with Buddy Rice rounding out the top five in his best qualifying performance of the season for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing. Saturday night's 300-lap event starts at 8 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ESPN.

Tony Kanaan (#11 7-Eleven Andretti Green Racing Honda) pole qualifier, 2nd pole of 2008, 10th career IndyCar pole:
“I got an advantage by going last among my teammates. Marco [Andretti] and I started out with the same setup, and after his run we made one final change to my car, and that made all the difference. So, I have to thank my teammate and my team for that. It felt good to turn things around after my mistake last weekend [in the race] at Iowa. That was probably the hardest hit of my life. This is a place you either love or hate. If your car is working well, you love it, but if not it can be a very long, difficult race. The old distance [250 laps] was hard; 300 laps tomorrow night will be even tougher!”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 09: Richmond International Raceway, Richmond
1 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
2 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
3 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
4 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
5 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
6 Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi)
7 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
8 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
9   Bruno Junqueira (Dale Coyne Racing)
10 Oriol Servia (KV Racing Technologies)
11 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
12 John Andretti (Roth Racing)
13 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
14 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
15 Marty Roth (Roth Racing)
16 Will Power (KV Racing Technologies)
17 Vitor Meira (Panther Racing)
18 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
19 Ernesto Viso (HVM Racing)
20 Mario Moraes (Dale Coyne Racing)
21 Townsend Bell (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
22 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Racing)
23 Justin Wilson (Newman Haas Lanigan)
24 Jaime Camara (Conquest Racing)
25 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Rahal Letterman Racing)
26 Enrique Bernoldi (Conquest Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.