IndyCar > 2008 Round 07: Texas > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.June 6, 2008
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 07: Texas Motor Speedway, Texas

Dixon Dominates Texas Qualifying

Race Results >>

Indianapolis 500 winner Scott Dixon continued his reign of terror over the IndyCar Series Friday at Texas Motor Speedway, qualifying on the pole for the fourth time in seven races as the Target Chip Ganassi driver continues to be the man to beat in 2008. In addition to his “500” victory last month, Dixon also won from the pole at the season-opening race at Homestead-Miami Speedway and has finished third or higher in all but one race this year.

Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe will start second and third, respectively, while rookie Hideki Mutoh led the four-car Andretti Green Racing effort in fourth. Teammate Danica Patrick qualified fifth, while Dan Wheldon bounced back from a heavy crash and rollover in practice, caused by suspension failure, to qualify 11th in his backup machine. Saturday night’s 228-lap event starts at 9:30 p.m. EDT with television coverage on ESPN2 starting at 10 p.m. EDT.

Scott Dixon(#9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda)pole qualifier, 12th career IndyCar pole:
“First of all, we were struggling earlier today. The car was very quick yesterday, but today in practice we backed up and weren’t able to find the same speed. So qualifying was a bit of a surprise, actually. All credit to the team for making the changes we needed before qualifying. That was the difference for us today.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 07: Texas Motor Speedway, Texas

1 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
2 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
3 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
4 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
5 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
6 Tomas Scheckter (Luczo Dragon Racing)
7 John Andretti (Roth Racing)
8 Will Power (KV Racing Technologies)
9 Vitor Meira (Panther Racing)
10 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Rahal Letterman Racing)
11 Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi)
12 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
13 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
14 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
15 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
16 Oriol Servia (KV Racing Technologies)
17 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Racing)
18 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
19 Marty Roth (Roth Racing)
20 Enrique Bernoldi (Conquest Racing)
21 Jaime Camara (Conquest Racing)
22 Mario Moraes (Dale Coyne Racing)
23 Justin Wilson (Newman Haas Lanigan)
24 Mario Dominguez (Pacific Coast Motorsports)
25 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
26   Bruno Junqueira (Dale Coyne Racing)
27 Milka Duna (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
28 Ernesto Viso (HVM Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.