IndyCar > 2008 Round 06 : Milwaukee > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.May 31, 2008
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 06 : The Milwaukee Mile, Milwaukee

Marco Andretti Claims First IndyCar Pole

Race Results >>

Youth prevailed over experience Saturday at The Milwaukee Mile, as 21-year-old Marco Andretti became the youngest pole winner in IndyCar Series history with a four-lap average of 168.079 mph, just edging the even younger [19 years old] Graham Rahal. Both are the latest in multi-generational racing families, with their fathers last starting together on the front row at New Hampshire International Speedway in 1992, when Bobby Rahal claimed the pole over Michael Andretti.

Last week’s Indianapolis 500 winner and series points leader Scott Dixon will start third, with Long Beach winner Will Power fourth. Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves rounded out the top five qualifiers.

Sunday’s 225-lap ABC Supply/A.J. Foyt Indy 225, the sixth of 18 IndyCar Series races this year, starts at 4 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ABC.

Marco Andretti (#26 Andretti Green Racing Honda) pole qualifier, 1st career IndyCar pole:
“On the very first lap, I knew the car was going to be fast. But it’s easy to push too hard too soon in qualifying, so I held back just a bit on my first green flag lap to try and make the tires last. The last lap [of four] was definitely ‘on the edge’ but that’s what it takes to qualify well. It’s cool to have Graham [Rahal] up here with me. The series is looking great right now and hopefully, will only get better.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 06: The Milwaukee Mile, Milwaukee

1 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
2 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
3 Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing)
4 Will Power (KV Racing Technologies)
5 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
6 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
7 Dan Wheldon (Chip Ganassi Racing)
8 Enrique Bernoldi (Conquest Racing)
9 Oriol Servia (KV Racing Technologies)
10 Ernesto Viso (HVM Motorsports)
11 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
12 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Rahal Letterman Racing)
13 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
14 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
15 Bruno Junqueira (Dale Coyne Racing)
16 John Andretti (Roth Racing)
17 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
18 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
19 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
20 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Enterprises)
21 Townsend Bell (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
22 Justin Wilson (Newman Haas Lanigan)
23 Mario Moraes (Dale Coyne Racing)
24 Jaime Camara (Conquest Racing)
25 Mario Dominguez (Pacific Coast Motorsports)
26 Vitor Meira (Panther Racing)
27 Marty Roth (Roth Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.