IndyCar > 2007 Round 13: Michigan > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.August 4, 2007
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 13: Michigan International Speedway

Franchitti Fastest in Michigan Qualifying

Race Results >>

IndyCar Series championship points leader Dario Franchitti posted a lap of 218.308 miles per hour Saturday at Michigan International Speedway to claim the pole for Sunday’s Firestone Indy 400. It is the seventh consecutive race Franchitti has qualified in the top five and the second time this season the Scott has started from the pole.

Team Penske’s Sam Hornish Jr. and Helio Castroneves qualified second and third, respectively, while Rahal Letterman Racing’s Scott Sharp will start fourth, continuing his string of strong oval-track qualifying efforts.

The third row of the grid is made up of former series champion Dan Wheldon, fifth, and Vision Racing’s Tomas Scheckter in sixth. Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon, second in the points standings and coming off a record-tying three consecutive race victories, qualified seventh. Eighteen of the 20-car starting field qualified within seven-tenths of a second of the pole.

Sunday’s 400-mile race, the second-longest of 2007, starts at noon EDT, with live television coverage on ESPN2.

Dario Franchitti (#27 Andretti Green Racing Honda) pole qualifier, his fourth career IndyCar pole:
“We’ve had a pretty good car right from the first practice this morning. We focused on the race setup in the first practice, then gained even more speed with some additional changes. I wasn’t totally sure about our qualifying setup, as we never got in a full simulated qualifying run, but obviously it was a good one! This isn’t a tough track to pass on if your car is quick. The very top lane is a bit sketchy, but you can still run two-three wide here. It should be a good race tomorrow.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 13: Michigan International Speedway, Brooklyn, MI

1 Dario Franchitti (Andretti Green Racing)
2 Sam Hornish Jr. (Team Penske)
3 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
4 Scott Sharp (Rahal Letterman Racing)
5 Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
6 Tomas Scheckter (Vision Racing)
7 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
8 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
9 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
10 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
11 Vitor Meira (Delphi Panther Racing)
12 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Rahal Letterman Racing)
13 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
14 Kosuke Matsuura (Super Aguri Panther Racing)
15 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
16 Sarah Fisher (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
17 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
18 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Enterprises)
19 Milka Duno (SAMAX Motorsport)
20 Jon Herb (Racing Professionals)
< IndyCar
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - IndyCar Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.