IndyCar > 2007 Round 11: Nashville > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.July 13, 2007
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 11: Nashville Superspeedway, Nashville
Dixon Continues Hot Streak, Takes Nashville Pole Race Results >>

Winner last week on the road course at Watkins Glen road course and defending Nashville race victor, Scott Dixon continued to be the “man of the moment” in IndyCar Series competition, claiming the pole Friday night for Saturday’s Firestone Indy 200.

Dixon’s pole-winning lap of 204.414 miles an hour was more than one mile an hour quicker than teammate Dan Wheldon’s pole-winning effort here last year. The top nine qualifiers all bested Wheldon’s 2006 pole speed of 203.293 mph.

Current IndyCar Series points leader Dario Franchitti qualified second, and will start on the outside of the front row in the 18-car field. Tony Kanaan will line up third for Andretti Green Racing, with Team Penske’s Sam Hornish Jr., fourth.

Wheldon starts fifth, with Helio Castroneves sixth in his Team Penske entry. Danica Patrick will start seventh, her best qualifying result since Texas. Marco Andretti, who struggled on the 1.5-mile tracks earlier this year, posted his best oval track qualifying run since the Homestead season-opener to start eighth. Rahal Letterman Racing teammates Jeff Simmons and Scott Sharp round out the top 10.

Sunday’s 200-lap race, the fourth of five consecutive mid-summer race weekends in 2007, starts at 7:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ESPN.

Scott Dixon (#9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) pole qualifier, second pole of 2007, 8th career IndyCar Series pole: “We were fast right out of the trailer today, and ran quick in both race and qualifying trim during practice, so that was a encouraging start. During my actual qualifying run, the car was pretty loose. One lap I got very sideways in Turn One but was able to catch the slide. So all-in-all, we’re very happy. Starting on the pole is just what we needed here as we’re running less wing than in previous years and that made it very hard to pass in practice. I expect the race to be the same way. We need to keep putting the pressure on Dario [Franchitti] for the championship.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 11: Nashville Superspeedway, Nashville

1 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
2 Dario Franchitti (Andretti Green Racing)
3 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
4 Sam Hornish Jr. (Team Penske)
5 Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
6 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
7 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
8 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
9 Jeff Simmons (Rahal Letterman Racing)
10 Scott Sharp (Rahal Letterman Racing)
11 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
12 Tomas Scheckter (Vision Racing)
13 Kosuke Matsuura (Super Aguri Panther Racing)
14 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
15 Vitor Meira (Delphi Panther Racing)
16 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
17 Sarah Fisher (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
18 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Enterprises)

< IndyCar
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - IndyCar Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.