IndyCar > 2007 Round 10: Watkins Glen > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.July 7, 2007
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 10: Watkins Glen International Raceway, Watkins Glen
Castroneves Stays on Top at Watkins Glen Race Results >>

Helio Castroneves maintained his narrow advantage over the IndyCar Series field Saturday at Watkins Glen International Raceway, qualifying on the pole for Sunday’s Watkins Glen Indy GP. Quickest in Friday’s practice, the Team Penske driver was fastest in both the preliminary single-car qualifying laps, and in the following 15-minute Firestone Fast Six “shootout” among the top six qualifiers.

Castroneves edged out defending two-time ‘Glen winner Scott Dixon, and the Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver will start second as he seeks a third-consecutive Watkins Glen triumph. Despite hitting a seagull on his final flying lap, Dixon closed to within two-hundredths of a second of what was then the pole lap time. But Castroneves’ final lap also was his best of the day, and increased his margin to just over three-tenths of a second around the 3.77-mile road course.

Series points leader Dario Franchitti and Tony Kanaan both posted the fastest speeds on their final laps, with Franchitti starting third and his Andretti Green Racing teammate Kanaan, fourth. Sam Hornish Jr., who missed the final minutes of the shootout after going off course at the “bus stop” chicane, will start fifth with Marco Andretti rounding out the top six.

Sunday’s 60-lap race, the second of five road races in 2007, starts at 3:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ABC.

Helio Castroneves (#3 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier: “We ran a pretty quick time right at the start of the ‘shootout’, but I knew there was still a little bit more left in both me and the car. We waiting in the pits for a while to see if anyone would come close, but when Dario [Franchitti] and Scott [Dixon] went out at the end, I decided it was time for us to go back out, too. There was some debris on the track in the ‘bus stop’ [chicane] and the corner after that, but it was still a very good lap. For the race, we’ll have to see what the weather does. It’s supposed to be hotter, and that will make it a very physical race. We’ll have to play it smart, and take advantage of any opportunities that arise.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 10: Watkins Glen International Raceway, Watkins Glen

1 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
2 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
3 Dario Franchitti (Andretti Green Racing)
4 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
5 Sam Hornish Jr. (Team Penske)
6 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
7 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
8 Vitor Meira (Delphi Panther Racing)
9 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Enterprises)
10 Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
11 Kosuke Matsuura (Super Aguri Panther Racing)
12 Jeff Simmons (Rahal Letterman Racing)
13 Tomas Scheckter (Vision Racing)
14 Scott Sharp (Rahal Letterman Racing)
15 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
16 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
17 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
18 Sarah Fisher (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)

< IndyCar
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - IndyCar Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.