IndyCar > 2007 Round 09: Richmond > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.June 29, 2007
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 09: Richmond International Raceway, Richmond
Franchitti Inherits Rained-Out Richmond Pole Race Results >>

Dario Franchitti will start from the pole in Saturday night’s SunTrust Indy Challenge, in an IndyCar Series starting grid determined by championship points after rain washed out qualifying runs Friday at Richmond International Raceway.

In addition to the championship points lead, Franchitti has two wins this season: the Indianapolis 500 in May and last weekend’s inaugural IndyCar Series race at Iowa Speedway. He has finished in the top five in seven of eight races, but this is his first pole starting position of 2007.

Second in the championship fight, Tony Kanaan will start along side his Andretti Green Racing teammate on the outside of the front row. He also posted the quickest speed in practice, with a lap of 172.974 mph in the second of two practice sessions held before the rain arrived.

Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammates Scott Dixon and Dan Wheldon will start third and fourth, respectively, with Team Penske’s Sam Hornish Jr., fifth, and Helio Castroneves, sixth, making up the third row.

Panther Racing’s Vitor Meira will start ninth in his backup Honda Dallara after suspension failure in the opening practice caused a crash in Turn 3 that wrecked his primary car. Rookie Milka Duno also crashed in the second session in Turn 4, and will start 19th in her repaired SAMAX Racing machine. Neither driver was injured.

Sunday’s 250-lap race, the second Saturday night race of the year, starts at 7:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ESPN.

Dario Franchitti (#27 Andretti Green Racing Honda) pole qualifier (based on championship points), his first pole of 2007, fourth career IndyCar Series pole:
“Well to be honest, the new rule with the rain helped us tonight as we never ran a qualifying simulation in practice, so under the old rules we would have started back in sixth. But I’m looking forward to the race tomorrow night. This is a real ‘driver’strack’. It’s always a very physical race here, but that makes it all the more rewarding when you run well.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 09: Richmond International Raceway, Richmond

1 Dario Franchitti (Andretti Green Racing)
2 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
3 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
4 Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
5 Sam Hornish Jr. (Team Penske)
6 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
7 Scott Sharp (Rahal Letterman Racing)
8 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
9 Vitor Meira (Delphi Panther Racing)
10 Tomas Scheckter (Vision Racing)
11 Jeff Simmons (Rahal Letterman Racing)
12 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
13 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Enterprises)
14 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
15 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
16 Sarah Fisher (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
17 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
18 Kosuke Matsuura (Super Aguri Panther Racing)
19 Milka Duno (SAMAX Motorsport)

< IndyCar
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - IndyCar Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.