IndyCar > 2007 Round 07: Texas > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.June 8, 2007
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 07: Texas Motor Speedway, Texas
Sharp Snares Pole in Tight Texas Qualifying Race Results >>

Scott Sharp surprised the IndyCar field with a quick lap of 215.260 mph in qualifying Friday night at Texas Motor Speedway, claiming the pole for Saturday’s Bombardier Learjet 550K. Edging out Team Penske’s Sam Hornish Jr. by 0.64 mph, Sharp claimed his first pole since August, 2001 at Kentucky Speedway, and the sixth of his IndyCar career.

Sharp and outside front row starter Hornish have each won twice previously in Texas, with Sharp taking the victory in the June, 2000 and 2001 events, and Hornish winning the October, 2001 and September, 2002 races.

Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti will start on the inside of the second row, in third; with his Andretti Green Racing teammate and last week’s Milwaukee race winner Tony Kanaan starting fourth. Last year’s Texas winner, Helio Castroneves, qualified fifth, with Danica Patrick rounding out the top six.

Scott Dixon rebounded from a crash in the final practice session to post the seventh-fastest qualifying speed in his backup Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda, while Sharp’s Rahal Letterman Racing teammate, Jeff Simmons, recorded his best qualifying performance of the year to start eighth.

Saturday night’s 228-lap race starts at 9:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ESPN2.

Scott Sharp (#8 Rahal Letterman Racing Honda) pole qualifier, his first pole of 2007, sixth career IndyCar Series pole:
“I’ve been saying all year that this team is coming together, and I think we’ve ‘arrived’ this weekend. We made a lot of progress [at Indianapolis] in May, and carried a bit more of that on to Milwaukee. We learned some things there that helped us this weekend as well. With Jeff [Simmons] in eighth, it’s a great day for the entire Rahal Letterman team. You’ll see more side-by-side action [in the race] tomorrow night. I think it will be a typical, hard-fought, multi-car Texas battle.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 07: Texas Motor Speedway, Texas

1 Scott Sharp (Rahal Letterman Racing)
2 Sam Hornish Jr. (Team Penske)
3 Dario Franchitti (Andretti Green Racing)
4 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
5 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
6 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
7 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
8 Jeff Simmons (Rahal Letterman Racing)
9 Tomas Scheckter (Vision Racing)
10 Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
11 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Enterprises)
12 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
13 Vitor Meira (Delphi Panther Racing)
14 Jon Herb (Racing Professionals)
15 Kosuke Matsuura (Super Aguri Panther Racing)
16 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
17 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
18 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
19 Sarah Fisher (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
20 Milka Duno (SAMAX Motorsport)

< IndyCar
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - IndyCar Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.