IndyCar > 2007 Round 04: Kansas City > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.April 28, 2007
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 04: Kansas Speedway, Kansas City
Kanaan Takes Pole in Kansas Race Results >>

Continuing the hot streak that started last week with a race victory at Twin Ring Motegi, Tony Kanaan snared the pole Saturday at Kansas Speedway for Sunday’s Kansas Lottery Indy 300. Kanaan edged Team Penske’s Sam Hornish Jr. by just over two hundredths of a second to claim his seventh career IndyCar pole, and the first pole in 15 races for a driver from a team other than Team Penske or Target Chip Ganassi Racing.

The Penske and Ganassi teams are still right at the front. Hornish will start on the outside of the front row, with his Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves third. Ganassi teammates Dan Wheldon and Scott Dixon will start fourth and fifth, respectively, while Kanaan’s teammate Dario Franchitti qualified sixth for the four-car Andretti Green Racing effort.

Tomas Scheckter continued his strong season for Vision Racing with the seventh-fastest qualifying run, with Delphi Panther Racing’s Vitor Meira rounding out the top eight qualifiers.

It was an incident-free day at the 1.5-mile oval just west of Kansas City, and a day that once again featured 100 per cent Honda engine reliability throughout the 21-car field. Sunday’s 200-lap event starts at 4:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ESPN2..

Tony Kanaan (#11 7-Eleven Andretti Green Racing Honda) pole qualifier, first pole since the 2005 Indianapolis 500, 7th career IndyCar pole:
“It was a good day for us. So far, this has been the strongest start to a season I’ve had since 2004 [his championship-winning year]. It’s a great feeling to do well at a type of track [1.5-mile oval] where we’ve struggled for the past year or so. We have a healthy rivalry with Team Penske and Ganassi [Racing]. They’re certainly going to be strong tomorrow. Hopefully, the track will be good for me tomorrow and we’ll put on a good show for the fans.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 04: Kansas Speedway, Kansas City

1 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
2 Sam Hornish Jr. (Team Penske)
3 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
4 Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
5 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
6 Dario Franchitti (Andretti Green Racing)
7 Tomas Scheckter (Vision Racing)
8 Vitor Meira (Delphi Panther Racing)
9 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
10 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
11 Darren Manning (A.J. Foyt Enterprises)
12 Kosuke Matsuura (Super Aguri Panther Racing)
13 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
14 Scott Sharp (Rahal Letterman Racing)
15 A.J. Foyt IV (Vision Racing)
16 Jeff Simmons (Rahal Letterman Racing)
17 Sarah Fisher (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
18 Buddy Rice (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
19 Marty Roth (Roth Racing)
20 Alex Barron (CURB/Agajanian/Beck Motorsports)
21 Milka Duno (SAMAX Motorsport)

< IndyCar
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - IndyCar Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.