IndyCar > 2006 Round 08: Kansas City > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.July 1, 2006
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 08: Kansas Speedway, Kansas City Qualifying
Wheldon Posts First Pole of 2006 at Kansas Speedway Race Results >>

Never known as a strong qualifier despite his 10 career IndyCar victories, defending Indy Racing League champion Dan Wheldon scored his first pole of 2006 Saturday at a hot and windy Kansas Speedway with a one-lap average of 213.536 mph. It is Wheldon’s third career IndyCar pole in 57 races, and his first since moving to Target Chip Ganassi Racing at the start of this season.

Wheldon, who finished second here last year to then-teammate Tony Kanaan, will be seeking his second race win of the season in an effort to close the 35-point gap to championship leader Helio Castroneves, who will start fourth in Sunday’s 300-mile event.

Reigning Indianapolis 500 champion Sam Hornish Jr., also winner of last week’s race in Richmond, Virginia, will start on the outside of the front row, followed by Watkins Glen race winner Scott Dixon, third, and Castroneves. Strong throughout practice and in the IRL Open Test held here in June, Kosuke Matsuura will start fifth for Super Aguri Fernandez Racing, with Panther Racing’s Vitor Meira rounding out the top six in another competitive, 19-car IndyCar field.

The eighth round of the 14-race 2006 IndyCar season starts Sunday at 1 p.m. EDT, with live television
coverage on ABC.

Robert Clarke (President, Honda Performance Development) on qualifying at Kansas Speedway:
"The qualifying results today are not too surprising, as they are similar to the results of the IRL open test here last month, but they’re also somewhat deceiving as this is a very close and competitive field. The first six drivers are separated by just 17-hundredths of a second, 38 hundredths covers the top ten, and the entire field is covered by just eight-tenths of a second. Congratulations to Dan Wheldon on his first pole of the season, and we’re looking forward to a fast, exciting race tomorrow."

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 08: Kansas Speedway, Kansas City Qualifying
1 Dan Wheldon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
2 Sam Hornish Jr. (Marlboro Team Penske)
3 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
4 Helio Castroneves (Marlboro Team Penske)
5 Kosuke Matsuura (Super Aguri Fernandez Racing)
6 Vitor Meira (Panther Racing)
7 Buddy Lazier (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
8 Tomas Scheckter (Vision Racing)
9 Buddy Rice (Rahal Letterman Racing)
10 Scott Sharp (Delphi Fernandez Racing)
11 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
12 Danica Patrick (Rahal Letterman Racing)
13 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
14 Dario Franchitti (Andretti Green Racing)
15 Bryan Herta (Andretti Green Racing)
16 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
17 Jeff Simmons (Rahal Letterman Racing)
18 Felipe Giaffone (A.J. Foyt Enterprises)
19 Eddie Cheever Jr.(Cheever Racing)

< IndyCar
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - IndyCar Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.