IndyCar > 2005 Round 17: California > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.October 15, 2005
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 17: California Speedway, Fontana, California Qualifying
Franchitti Fastest in California Race Results >>

Dario Franchitti and his Andretti Green Racing team were untouchable in qualifying Saturday for the season-ending Indy Racing League event at California Speedway. The Honda-powered driver posted a new lap record speed of 219.398 mph, besting early pace-setter Tomas Scheckter to secure his first pole of 2005 and second career IndyCar pole.

Rahal Letterman Racing teammates Danica Patrick and Buddy Rice were the next-quickest Honda drivers, qualifying fourth and fifth, respectively. Recently crowned series champion Dan Wheldon will line up seventh for Sunday’s 400-mile race, with Andretti Green teammate Bryan Herta alongside in eighth. Scott Sharp will start ninth for Delphi Fernandez Racing, with Tony Kanaan placing the fourth AGR entry in 10th.

Kosuke Matsuura posted the 12th fastest speed for Super Aguri Fernandez Racing, while Vitor Meira will start 13th in the third Rahal Letterman entry. Roger Yasukawa will start 20th for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, but rookie teammate Thiago Medeiros had his IndyCar debut spoiled by a crash in the second practice session. Although uninjured in the crash, he was unable to make a qualifying run due to damage to his car.

Dario Franchitti (#27 Arca/Ex Andretti Green Racing Honda) pole qualifier, his first pole of 2005, league-leading eighth Honda pole:
“On these bigger tracks, a lot of your qualifying performance is dependent on your engine, and your engineers. And today, our [chassis] engineers got the balance of the car just right and the Honda engine was incredibly strong. So the driver’s job was relatively easy! I think the race tomorrow is when we’ll earn our money, but I’m looking forward to it.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 17: California SpeedWay, California Qualifying
1 Dario Franchitti (Andretti Green Racing)
2 Tomas Scheckter (Panther Racing)
3 Sam Hornish Jr. (Marlboro Team Penske)
4 Danica Patrick (Rahal Letterman Racing)
5 Buddy Rice (Rahal Letterman Racing)
6 Helio Castroneves (Marlboro Team Penske)
7 Dan Wheldon (Andretti Green Racing)
8 Bryan Herta (Andretti Green Racing)
9 Scott Sharp (Delphi Fernandez Racing)
10 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
11 Tomas Enge (Panther Racing)
12 Kosuke Matsuura (Super Aguri Fernandez Racing)
13 Vitor Meira (Rahal Letterman Racing)
14 Jaques Lasizier (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
15 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
16 Patrick Carpentier (Red Bull Cheever Racing)
17 Alex Barron (Red Bull Cheever Racing)
18 AJ Foyt IV(A.J. Foyt Enterprises)
19 Jimmy Kite (Ethanol Hemelgarn Racing)
20 Roger Yasukawa (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
21 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
22 Jeff Bucknum (A.J.Foyt Enterprises)

< IndyCar
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - IndyCar Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.