IndyCar > 2005 Round 16: Watkins Glen > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.September 24, 2005
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 16: Watkins Glen International, Watkins Glen Qualifying
Kanaan Leads Honda in Watkins Glen Qualifying Runs Race Results >>

Tony Kanaan and his Andretti Green Racing team took a chance in qualifying Saturday at Watkins Glen International Raceway, but the setup changes they made prior to the final 10-minute “shootout” failed to pan out, as the defending IndyCar Series champion dropped to fifth on the grid for Sunday's Watkins Glen Indy Grand Prix.

Kanaan posted the third-fastest time in single-car qualifying, making himself eligible for the pole shootout:a brief group session for the fastest six drivers. Teammate Dario Franchitti ran fourth fastest in single-car qualifying to become the second Honda entry in the final qualifying round.

Both Honda drivers reduced the aerodynamic downforce levels and improved their lap times, but not as much as their competitors, as Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves claimed his second IndyCar series pole of the season with an average speed of 133.806 mph around the fast and hilly 3.37-mile Watkins Glen road course.

Rahal Letterman Racing teammates Vitor Meira and Buddy Rice just missed making the shootout, qualifying seventh and eighth, respectively, in their single-car runs. Six-race winner Dan Wheldon qualified ninth, and will clinch his first IndyCar Series championship when he starts Sunday’s 60-lap race.

Tony Kanaan (#11 7-Eleven Andretti Green Racing Honda) second fastest in practice, winner earlier this year on the road course at Infineon Raceway:
“After single-car qualifying, We decided to try something different and go for the pole. But instead of moving up, the changes dropped us back a couple of positions. But we do have a good car for the race tomorrow, and I'm looking forward to adding another road course win. We'll see what happens.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 16: Watkins Glen International, Watkins Glen Qualifying
1 Helio Castroneves (Marlboro Team Penske)
2 Giorgio Pantano (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
3 Patrick Carpentier (Red Bull Cheever Racing)
4 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
5 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
6 Dario Franchitti (Andretti Green Racing)
7 Vitor Meira (Rahal Letterman Racing)
8 Buddy Rice (Rahal Letterman Racing)
9 Dan Wheldon (Andretti Green Racing)
10 Tomas Scheckter (Panther Racing )
11 Sam Hornish Jr. (Marlboro Team Penske)
12 Tomas Enge (Panther Racing)
13 Alex Barron (Red Bull Cheever Racing)
14 Bryan Herta (Andretti Green Racing)
15 Kosuke Matsuura (Super Aguri Fernandez Racing)
16 Danica Patrick (Rahal Letterman Racing)
17 Roger Yasukawa (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
18 Scott Sharp (Delphi Fernandez Racing)
19 Jeff Bucknum (A.J.Foyt Enterprises)
20 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)

< IndyCar
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - IndyCar Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.