IndyCar > 2005 Round 10: Milwaukee > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.July 23, 2005
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 10: The Milwaukee Mile, Milwaukee
Wheldon Starts Fourth at Milwaukee Race Results >>

IndyCar Series championship leader Dan Wheldon led the Honda-powered field in qualifying action Saturday at The Milwaukee Mile for the ABC Supply/A.J.Foyt 225. Wheldon posted the fourth-fastest qualifying run with an average speed of 169.0 mph, while Team Penske's Sam Hornish Jr. recorded his third pole of the season, the others coming at Twin Ring Motegi in Japan and Richmond, Virginia.

Danica Patrick again led the rookie contingent in qualifying and will start sixth for Rahal Letterman Racing, leading a pack of Honda-powered drivers filling out the middle of the 21-car starting field. Dario Franchitti, the winner last week in Nashville, will start eighth for Andretti Green Racing. In 2004 Franchitti started seventh at Milwaukee and went on to score his first IndyCar victory.

Defending series champion Tony Kanaan will start ninth, followed by Roger Yasukawa, who equaled his best previous qualifying performance this year for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, one of only four single-car teams competing in the Indy Racing League this season. The Japanese-American also started 10th at the season-opening race in Homestead, Florida.

Vitor Meira and Bryan Herta will make up the sixth row of the starting grid, followed by Delphi Fernandez Racing's Scott Sharp on the inside of the seventh row in 13th. Sunday's 225-lap race, 10th round in the 17-race IRL IndyCar Series, starts at 2:30 p.m. EDT, with television coverage on ESPN.

Dan Wheldon (#26 Jim Beam/Klein Tools Andretti Green Racing Honda) qualified fourth:
" We had a bit of a difficult time in qualifying today. The car was very close to flat-out all the way around, which is what the quickest guys are doing, but we're not quite there. Things never go quite according to plan at this track, because it is so difficult. That's what makes Milwaukee special. And it looks like [weather and track] conditions will be entirely different tomorrow, so it should be another exciting race here."

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 10: The Milwaukee Mile, Milwaukee
1 Sam Hornish Jr. (Marlboro Team Penske)
2 Helio Castroneves (Marlboro Team Penske)
3 Tomas Scheckter (Panther Racing )
4 Dan Wheldon (Andretti Green Racing)
5 Buddy Laizer(Panther Racing)
6 Danica Patrick (Rahal Letterman Racing)
7 Alex Barron (Red Bull Cheever Racing)
8 Dario Franchitti (Andretti Green Racing)
9 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
10 Roger Yasukawa (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
11 Vitor Meira (Rahal Letterman Racing)
12 Bryan Herta (Andretti Green Racing)
13 Scott Sharp (Delphi Fernandez Racing)
14 Patrick Carpentier (Red Bull Cheever Racing)
15 Buddy Rice (Rahal Letterman Racing)
16 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
17 Jimmy Kite (Ethanol Hemelgarn Racing)
18 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
19 A.J. Foyt IV (A.J. Foyt Enterprises)
20 Kosuke Matsuura (Super Aguri Fernandez Racing)
21 Darren Manning (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
22 Ryan Briscoe (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)

< IndyCar
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - IndyCar Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.