Motor Sports Topics Return to Motor Sports Home
Top line
INDYJune 7, 2003
American IndyCar Series Round 5
Texas Motor Speedway

Kanaan's second-place finish adds 40 points to his series score.

The 16th race of the IndyCar series was held at Texas Motor Speedway, with banks as steep as 24 degrees. The first night race of the series, the race was packed with hot neck-and-neck action from start to finish. After a final restart, the last two laps were a heated battle for top place between Al Unser Jr., Tony Kanaan, and Toranosuke Takagi. In the end, Kanaan took the checkered flag in second place, just 0.081 seconds behind the winner. Kenny Brack (Team Rahaal) finished 4th. Bryan Herta (Andretti Green Racing), driving for the injured Dario Franchitti, won 5th place, giving 3 of the top 5 finishes to Honda Indy V-8 powered racers. Rookie Roger Yasukawa (Super Aguri Fernandez Racing) put in a personal best, taking the checkered flag in 9th.

Alongside winner Al Unser Jr. was 3rd-place finisher Toranosuke Takagi. This was the first podium ever for a Japanese racer.

There was a two-car accident on the second turn of the 190th lap. After the drivers were rescued, the course cleared, and the final green flag given, there were only 2 laps left. The fans went wild as the top three stayed neck-and-neck all the way to the finish line. This kind of "up-close and personal" racing is what gives the Indy series its appeal, and the fans were treated to an exciting show with the Texas Motor Speedway's seventh-ever victory with under a second's margin. The winner's average speed of 168.123 mph put him 4th in the Texas Motor Speedway's speed record book, on a course known for its ultra-high speeds.

Kanaan's second-place finish adds 40 points to his series score. This not only allows him to defend his position as point leader, but also increases his lead over the second-place racer to 26 points, from 14 points before the race. Yasukawa also retained his position as rookie point leader.

American IndyCar Series Round 5
Texas Motor Speedway

1 Al Unser Jr. (Corteco)
2 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
3 Tora Takagi (Pioneer Mo Nunn Racing)
4 Kenny Brack (Team Rahal)
5 Bryan Herta (Andretti Green Racing)
6 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
7 Helio Castroneves (Marlboro Team Penske)
8 Gil de Ferran (Marlboro Team Penske)
9 Roger Yasukawa (Super Aguri Fernandez Racing)
10 Sam Hornish Jr. (Pennzoil Panther)
11 Greg Ray (Access Motorsports)
20 Dan Wheldon (Andretti Green Racing)
Tony Kanaan
Tony Kanaan

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.