Motor Sports Topics Return to Motor Sports Home
Top line
INDYMay 25, 2003
American IndyCar Series Round 4
Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Tony Kanaan Takes 3rd, Greg Ray and Roger Yasugawa Finish 8th and 10th

After a glittering ceremony beneath clear blue skies, the call, "ladies and gentlemen, start your engines!" got the 87th tradition-packed Indy 500 race underway. Rain had threatened earlier, but none was in sight at 11:40 am as the 40,000 spectators witnessed the green flag come down on the 33 drivers.

In a battle lasting over three hours and 11 minutes and fought at speeds of over 360 km/h, three Honda Indy V-8 drivers finished in the top ten, headed by Tony Kanaan in third. Greg Ray, appearing for the first time since this year's third race in Motegi, was eighth across the line while Roger Yasugawa finished in 10th.

The race lead dramatically changed a total of 14 times between eight drivers throughout the 200 laps of the 2.5 mile (4 km) oval course. There were nine full-course cautions due to accidents and 16 cars, just under half of the starting 33, completed the race.

Female driver Sara Fisher crashed after only 14 laps, while Sam Hornish Jr., series champion for the last two years, developed trouble with only five laps left and had to be content with 15th place. Meanwhile, 2001 and 2002 Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves was looking to make it an unprecedented three victories in a row, but narrowly missed out by finishing in second place. In what was to be his last ever race, Michael Andretti improved from 13th on the grid to eight by the end of lap one and continued to drive strongly at the front for 28 laps, but damage to a small part in his car's throttle linkage forced him to retire on lap 94. Having finished seventh in qualifying, Toranosuke Takagi took the checkered flag in fifth place, the highest ever in this event for a Japanese driver and the best result among this year's rookie drivers.

American IndyCar Series Round 4
Indianapolis Motor Speedway

1 Gil de Ferran (Marlboro Team Penske)
2 Helio Castroneves (Helio Castroneves)
3 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
4 Tomas Scheckter (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
5 Tora Takagi (Pioneer Mo Nunn Racing)
6 Alex Barron (Meijer Mo Nunn Racing)
7 Tony Renna (Kelley Racing)
8 Greg Ray (Access Motorsports)
9 Al Unser Jr. (Kelley Racing)
10 Roger Yasukawa (Super Aguri Fernandez Racing)
14 Shinji Nakano (Beck Motorsports)
16 Kenny Brack (Team Rahal)
19 Dan Wheldon (Andretti Green Racing)
22 Robby Gordon (Andretti Green Racing)
26 Jimmy Vasser (Team Rahal)
27 Michael Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
Tony Kanaan
Tony Kanaan

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.