Phillip Island Testing - Australia - Testing Report
Date : 03/03/2014 Weather : Sunny Air : 26°C Track : 44°C Humidity : 69%

Bridgestone tyre test commences in Phillip Island

Bridgestone tyre test commences in Phillip Island

Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa has finished the first day of the three-day tyre test in Australia, completing 88 laps (more than any other MotoGP rider) with a best lap of 1’29.961 on lap 43 placing him 4th.

Bridgestone brought eight rear slick tyres per rider to this test – two 2013 specification tyres and six new experimental tyres with changes to construction, compound and shape. Today, Dani’s programme was to start on the 2013 tyres – for comparison purposes – and then perform short runs (of at least 6 laps) on the experimental tyres to collect initial data.

Tomorrow and Wednesday longer runs of 15 laps or more will be requested, depending on weather, to gather sufficient information to take back to Bridgestone in Japan. If possible, they would like each rider to complete a full race simulation on the final day.

Dani Pedrosa
Dani Pedrosa - 4th - 1'29.961

"This morning I spent time riding to regain my feel for this track, and then after lunch I began the testing programme with the new compounds. We've been evaluating the different tyres that have been brought here, and tomorrow we will continue our testing with another compound"

Testing Results

Pos. Rider Num. Nation Team Constructor Time
1 Jorge Lorenzo 99 ESP Yamaha Factory Racing YAMAHA 1'29.213
2 Valentino Rossi 46 ITA Yamaha Factory YAMAHA 1'29.576
3 Cal Crutchlow 35 GBR Ducati Team DUCATI 1'29.730
4 Dani Pedrosa 26 ESP Repsol Honda Team HONDA 1'29.961
5 Andrea Dovizioso 4 ITA Ducati Team DUCATI 1'29.965

Circuit Information

Length 4.448 m / 2.764 miles
Width 13m
Left corners 7
Right corners 5
Longest straight 900 m / 0.559 miles
Constructed 1956
Modified 1988
Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit
Pole Position 1m 27.899s (182.1 km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2013)
Race lap 1m 28.108s (181.7 km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2013)
Race time 29m 07.155s (179.1 km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2013)
2012 Winner Casey Stoner (Honda)
2013 Winner Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)

Photo Gallery

PRESS RELEASE Sign-up for Newsletter

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.