GP Aperol di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini - Misano - Preview
Date : 10/09/2013        

MotoGP family head to Marco Simoncelli circuit in San Marino

MotoGP family head to Marco Simoncelli circuit in San Marino

This week the Repsol Honda Team heads to Misano for the thirteenth round of the 2013 World Championship and the second visit of the season to Italy.

Close to the city of Rimini, the Misano Adriático circuit was constructed in 1972 and has since undergone an array of modifications. A regular scene for Italian Grands Prix throughout the 80s and early 90s, Misano returned to the MotoGP calendar in 2007. It was renamed in 2012 as the 'Marco Simoncelli Circuit' in honour of the much loved Italian rider who passed away in the Malaysian GP in 2011.

Repsol Honda riders Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa are currently leading the Championship and will arrive in Misano full of confidence. Marc has won here the past three years (2010 125cc, 2011 and 2012 in Moto2), and Dani who was unfortunately taken out on the first lap last year (to no fau lt of anyone, just a racing incident) has enjoyed good results here with one victory (2010) a 2nd place (2011) and a 3rd place (2009).

Marc Marquez  Marc Marquez - Championship Standing: 1st - 233 points
"I'm already feeling much better since my accident in Silverstone, so hopefully I'll be almost 100% by this weekend! I will arrive in Italy for the race weekend a little later than usual as I will use the time to have more physiotherapy on my shoulder. Misano has a lot of braking and is a smaller and slower track compared to others on the calendar, so it will be interesting to ride the MotoGP bike there. Once again, the aim is to start to work like always, focused on Sunday and prepare ourselves in the best way"
Dani Pedrosa  Dani Pedrosa - Championship Standing: 2nd - 203 points
"I was slightly disappointed after Silverstone as we knew we had the speed and race pace to challenge for victory, anyway we must learn from the mistakes and move on. Misano is quite a tricky track and the grip level is always a challenge, but I enjoy riding there. I've had good results in the past even if last year we experienced a nightmare on race day! This year we arrive confident and looking to reduce the points to Marc in the Championship"

Championship standings

1 Marc Marquez 233 pts SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
2 Dani Pedrosa 203 pts SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
3 Jorge Lorenzo 194 pts SPA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing
4 Valentino Rossi 156 pts ITA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing
5 Cal Crutchlow 136 pts GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
6 Stefan Bradl 113 pts GER HONDA LCR Honda MotoGP
7 Alvaro Bautista 103 pts SPA HONDA Go & Fun Honda Gresini
8 Andrea Dovizioso 96 pts ITA DUCATI Ducati Team
9 Nicky Hayden 88 pts USA DUCATI Ducati Team
10 Aleix Espargaro 68 pts SPA ART Power Electronics Aspar
11 Bradley Smith 66 pts GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
12 Michele Pirro 44 pts ITA DUCATI Ignite Pramac Racing Team
13 Andrea Iannone 41 pts ITA DUCATI Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Team
14 Colin Edwards 27 pts USA FTR-KAWASAKI NGM Mobile Forward Racing
15 Hector Barbera 27 pts SPA FTR Avintia Blusens
16 Danilo Petrucci 22 pts ITA IODA-SUTER Came IodaRacing Project
17 Randy De Puniet 20 pts FRA ART Power Electronics Aspar
18 Ben Spies 9 pts USA DUCATI Ignite Pramac Racing Team
19 Claudio Corti 7 pts ITA FTR-KAWASAKI NGM Mobile Forward Racing
20 Yonny Hernandez 7 pts COL PBM Paul Bird Motorsport
21 Alex De Angelis 5 pts RSM DUCATI Ignite Pramac Racing Team
22 Karel Abraham 5 pts CZE ART Cardion AB Motoracing
23 Hiroshi Aoyama 4 pts JPN FTR Avintia Blusens
24 Michael Laverty 3 pts GBR PBM Paul Bird Motorsport
25 Bryan Staring 2 pts AUS FTR-HONDA Go & Fun Honda Gresini
26 Javier Del Amor 1 pt SPA FTR Avintia Blusens
27 Martin Bauer 0 pts AUT S&B SUTER Remus Racing Team
28 Ivan Silva 0 pts SPA FTR Avintia Blusens
29 Lukas Pesek 0 pts CZE IODA-SUTER Came IodaRacing Project
30 Blake Young 0 pts USA APR CRT Attack Performance

Circuit information

First race 1980
GPs held 16
Laps 28
Race distance 118.328km / 73.528 miles
Track length 4.226km / 2.626 miles
Track width 12m
Longest straight 0.600km / 0.37 miles
Corners 16 (10 right, 6 left)
Pole position Left
Grandstands capacity 5,000
Circuit total capacity 75,000


Circuit records

Pole position 1m 33.138s (163.344km/h) Casey Stoner (Honda, 2011)
Race lap 1m 33.906s (162.008km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2011)
Race time 44m 11.877s (160.633km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2011)
2012 Winner Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)
PRESS RELEASE Sign-up for Newsletter

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.