bwin Grand Prix Ceske republiky - Brno - Preview
Date : 20/08/2013        

Repsol Honda Team head back across the pond to resume the Championship in Europe

Repsol Honda Team head back across the pond to resume the Championship in Europe

Fresh from their domination in America, the Repsol Honda Team are already en route for this weekend's Grand Prix in the Czech Republic.

Brno is a popular circuit with both riders and fans alike, built in a natural bowl which is banked in places to offer spectators an excellent view. There are many elevation changes as the circuit navigates itself through the beautiful wooded scenery.

Dani enjoyed a memorable race last year, fighting with Lorenzo to the final corner and emerging victorious - claiming his first win at the Czech circuit in the MotoGP class where he's also won in 250cc (2005) and in 125cc (2003). For Championship leader Marc Marquez, it's his first visit to Brno on the MotoGP machine. Marc also won last year, in the Moto2 class, and will be looking for another strong weekend after three back-to-back victories.

Marc Marquez  Marc Marquez - Championship Standing: 1st - 188 points
"After a great weekend in Indianapolis, there is no rest and we go directly to the Czech Republic. Brno isn't one of my favourite tracks but I won there last year so I still have a good feeling there! We will see when we get there, historically Yamaha have been very strong so I'm sure they will be very fast again this year, also considering they tested there a few weeks ago. We will wait to see our level and take the weekend at our own pace, work hard and try to take some more Championship points"
Dani Pedrosa  Dani Pedrosa - Championship Standing: 2nd - 167 points
"Indianapolis was physically a very tough race for me, so it's important I can recover in time for Brno just few days from now! Let's hope the weather stays nice as it can be very unpredictable in that area. Brno is a fast track, with high speed corners and in the past the Honda has done performed well there. Last year we had a strong race there and I hope we can repeat the same this year!"

Championship standings

1 Marc Marquez 188 pts SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
2 Dani Pedrosa 167 pts SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
3 Jorge Lorenzo 153 pts SPA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing
4 Valentino Rossi 130 pts ITA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing
5 Cal Crutchlow 127 pts GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
6 Stefan Bradl 93 pts GER HONDA LCR Honda MotoGP
7 Andrea Dovizioso 87 pts ITA DUCATI Ducati Team
8 Alvaro Bautista 81 pts SPA HONDA Go & Fun Honda Gresini
9 Nicky Hayden 72 pts USA DUCATI Ducati Team
10 Bradley Smith 59 pts GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
11 Aleix Espargaro 56 pts SPA ART Power Electronics Aspar
12 Michele Pirro 36 pts ITA DUCATI Ignite Pramac Racing Team
13 Andrea Iannone 29 pts ITA DUCATI Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Team
14 Hector Barbera 24 pts SPA FTR Avintia Blusens
15 Colin Edwards 20 pts USA FTR-KAWASAKI NGM Mobile Forward Racing
16 Randy De Puniet 19 pts FRA ART Power Electronics Aspar
17 Danilo Petrucci 18 pts ITA IODA-SUTER Came IodaRacing Project
18 Ben Spies 9 pts USA DUCATI Ignite Pramac Racing Team
19 Claudio Corti 7 pts ITA FTR-KAWASAKI NGM Mobile Forward Racing
20 Yonny Hernandez 7 pts COL PBM Paul Bird Motorsport
21 Alex De Angelis 5 pts RSM DUCATI Ignite Pramac Racing Team
22 Karel Abraham 5 pts CZE ART Cardion AB Motoracing
23 Michael Laverty 3 pts GBR PBM Paul Bird Motorsport
24 Bryan Staring 2 pts AUS FTR Go & Fun Honda Gresini
25 Hiroshi Aoyama 2 pts JPN FTR Avintia Blusens
26 Javier Del Amor 1 pt SPA FTR Avintia Blusens
27 Ivan Silva 0 pts SPA FTR Avintia Blusens
28 Lukas Pesek 0 pts CZE IODA-SUTER Came IodaRacing Project
29 Blake Young 0 pts USA APR CRT Attack Performance

Circuit information

First race 1987
GPs held 36
Laps 22
Race distance 118.866km / 73.854 miles
Track length 5.403km / 3.357 miles
Track width 15m
Longest straight 0.636km / 0.395 miles
Corners 14 (8 right, 6 left)
Pole position Left

Automotodrom Brno

Circuit records

Pole position 1m 55.799s (167.970km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2012)
Race lap 1m 56.274s (167.284km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2012)
Race time 42m 51.570s (166.403km/h) Dani Pedrosa (Honda, 2012)
2012 Winner Dani Pedrosa (Honda)
PRESS RELEASE Sign-up for Newsletter

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.