eni Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland - Sachsenring - Preview
Date : 09/07/2013        

Repsol Honda Team prepare for GP of Germany

Repsol Honda Team prepare for GP of Germany

After a dramatic weekend in Assen 10 days ago, the Repsol Honda Team head to Sachsenring this weekend for the Grand Prix of Germany, the eighth round of the season.

The 3.67km Sachsenring track, the second shortest on the calendar after Laguna Seca, has numerous tight corners - 10 left and 3 right - and requires a very accurate set up of the bikes.

Dani Pedrosa, who still leads the Championship with 136 points, has an incredible history at this circuit with six victories (four in MotoGP), including the past three years, and a total of seven podiums. Likewise, teammate Marc Marquez, who is 3rd in the Championship just 23 points off Dani, has a very good record here too. He's also won here the last three years (2010 125cc, 2011 and 2012 Moto2) and will be hoping for some dry track time to learn the lines on MotoGP machine.

Dani Pedrosa  Dani Pedrosa - Championship Standing: 1st - 136 points
"This week we head to Germany and I hope we can get a good feeling and have a good weekend. Sachsenring has typically been a good track for me in the past and it's a circuit where I always enjoy racing. It's a short track where you spend a lot of time on the left, but the fastest corner is to the right, so tyre performance will be key. It's important to keep the momentum and ride my best to keep fighting for race wins"
Marc Marquez  Marc Marquez - Championship Standing: 3rd - 113 points
"It was a tough and complicated weekend in Assen, but the important thing is that we learned a lot and picked up another podium and some important points. Now we head to Sachsenring, another new circuit for us on the MotoGP machine. We will see how the weather is there as it can change quite a lot! It will be interesting to see what the circuit is like on this bike because it's one of the smallest circuits on the calendar and I already found it small in Moto2 so I can't imagine how it will be in MotoGP! When we get there, I'll take my time to learn the lines with my team, as we do every week, and try our best for another good result"

Championship standings

1 Dani Pedrosa 136 pts SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
2 Jorge Lorenzo 127 pts SPA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing
3 Marc Marquez 113 pts SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
4 Cal Crutchlow 87 pts GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
5 Valentino Rossi 85 pts ITA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing
6 Andrea Dovizioso 65 pts ITA DUCATI Ducati Team
7 Stefan Bradl 51 pts GER HONDA LCR Honda MotoGP
8 Nicky Hayden 50 pts USA DUCATI Ducati Team
9 Alvaro Bautista 47 pts SPA HONDA Go & Fun Honda Gresini
10 Aleix Espargaro 44 pts SPA ART Power Electronics Aspar
11 Bradley Smith 41 pts GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
12 Michele Pirro 30 pts ITA DUCATI Ducati Test Team
13 Andrea Iannone 24 pts ITA DUCATI Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Team
14 Randy De Puniet 15 pts FRA ART Power Electronics Aspar
15 Danilo Petrucci 13 pts ITA IODA-SUTER Came IodaRacing Project
16 Hector Barbera 13 pts SPA FTR Avintia Blusens
17 Colin Edwards 10 pts USA FTR-KAWASAKI NGM Mobile Forward Racing
18 Ben Spies 9 pts USA DUCATI Ignite Pramac Racing Team
19 Yonny Hernandez 6 pts COL PBM Paul Bird Motorsport
20 Claudio Corti 4 pts ITA FTR-KAWASAKI NGM Mobile Forward Racing
21 Michael Laverty 3 pts GBR PBM Paul Bird Motorsport
22 Karel Abraham 3 pts CZE ART Cardion AB Motoracing
23 Bryan Staring 2 pts AUS FTR Go & Fun Honda Gresini
24 Javier Del Amor 1 pt SPA FTR Avintia Blusens
25 Hiroshi Aoyama 1 pt JPN FTR Avintia Blusens
26 Ivan Silva 0 pts SPA FTR Avintia Blusens
27 Lukas Pesek 0 pts CZE IODA-SUTER Came IodaRacing Project
28 Blake Young 0 pts USA APR CRT Attack Performance

Circuit information

First race 1961
GPs held 27
Laps 30
Race distance 110.130km / 68.430 miles
Track length 3.671km / 2.281 miles
Track width 12m
Longest straight 0.700km / 0.485 miles
Corners 13(10 left, 3 right)
Pole position Left


Circuit records

Pole position 1m 21.067s (163.020km/h) Casey Stoner (Ducati, 2008)
Race lap 1m 21.846s (161.469km/h) Dani Pedrosa (Honda, 2011)
Race time 41m 12.482s (160.352km/h) Dani Pedrosa (Honda, 2011)
2012 Winner Dani Pedrosa (Honda)
PRESS RELEASE Sign-up for Newsletter

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.