Gran Premio bwin de Espana - Jerez - Preview
Date : 30/04/2013        

Repsol Honda Team head to Jerez confident and motivated

Fresh from their thrilling 1-2 finish at the Circuit of The Americas, the Repsol Honda Team are on their way to Andalusia for the Spanish GP in Jerez.

Although this is round three of the Championship, as the teams head to Europe many feel this is the true start of the season. With the all-Spanish line up of Dani Pedrosa and Marc Marquez, along with Spanish sponsor Repsol, the factory Honda team visit Spain looking to continue the fine form they found in Austin where rookie Marc took his maiden MotoGP win and Dani completed a perfect weekend for the team finishing second.

Dani has an enviable record in Jerez where has finished on the podium the last eight years. The tally includes a MotoGP win in 2008, five seconds, and a 250cc win in his second world championship season of 2005. Included in that string are seven front row starts, with two MotoGP poles and a 250cc pole. For teammate Marc, he has scored second place twice, in 2009 and 2012, but victory here has eluded him so far.

Marc Marquez  Marc Marquez - Championship Standing: 1st - 41 points
"The Austin race is a weekend I will never forget and I would like to thank you all for all your support and kind messages! Now we arrive back to Europe and it's important to keep our feet on the ground and remain focused. All the other riders have much more experience than me in these circuits and we will need to work hard. I'm looking forward to racing in front of the Spanish fans for the first time on a MotoGP machine in Jerez and we will try our hardest to get the best result, if we can achieve a podium then it would be great! Our goal is to keep learning and finish each race"
Dani Pedrosa  Dani Pedrosa - Championship Standing: 3rd - 33 points
"Even though I missed out on the victory in Austin, we take many positives from the weekend. I am happy as we have reduced the gap to the leaders and I have recovered the good feelings that we had in preseason. Now we head to Jerez, which is one of my favourite circuits to race at. The atmosphere there is amazing and the fans are very passionate. The weather wasn't good for us in testing there a month ago, but it's a track we know well. We will look to continue with the momentum we left Austin and work hard from the first practice session to give ourselves the best chances for the race"

Championship standings

1 Marc Marquez 41 pts SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
2 Jorge Lorenzo 41 pts SPA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing
3 Dani Pedrosa 33 pts SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
4 Valentino Rossi 30 pts ITA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing
5 Cal Crutchlow 24 pts GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
6 Alvaro Bautista 18 pts SPA HONDA & FTR Go & Fun Honda Gresini
7 Andrea Dovizioso 18 pts ITA DUCATI Ducati Team
8 Nicky Hayden 15 pts USA DUCATI Ducati Team
9 Andrea Iannone 13 pts ITA DUCATI Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Team
10 Stefan Bradl 11 pts GER HONDA LCR Honda MotoGP
11 Aleix Espargaro 10 pts SPA ART Power Electronics Aspar
12 Ben Spies 9 pts USA DUCATI Ignite Pramac Racing Team
13 Randy De Puniet 6 pts FRA ART Power Electronics Aspar
14 Bradley Smith 4 pts GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
15 Yonny Hernandez 3 pts COL PBM Paul Bird Motorsport
16 Hector Barbera 3 pts SPA FTR Avintia Blusens
17 Hiroshi Aoyama 1 pt JPN FTR Avintia Blusens
18 Lukas Pesek 0 pts CZE IODA-SUTER Came IodaRacing Project
19 Blake Young 0 pts USA APR CRT Attack Performance
20 Claudio Corti 0 pts ITA FTR-KAWASAKI NGM Mobile Forward Racing
21 Michael Laverty 0 pts GBR PBM Paul Bird Motorsport
22 Bryan Staring 0 pts AUS HONDA & FTR Go & Fun Honda Gresini

Circuit information

First race 1987 (Modified 2002)
GPs held 26
Laps 27
Race distance 119.421km / 74.196miles
Track length 4.423km / 2.748miles
Track width 11m
Longest straight 0.600km / 0.373miles
Corners 13 (8 right, 5 left)
Pole position Left


Circuit records

Pole position 1m38.189s (162.164Km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2008)
Race lap 1m39.731s (159.657Km/h) Dani Pedrosa (Honda, 2010)
Race time 45m17.538s (158.200Km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2010)
2012 Winner Casey Stoner (Honda)
PRESS RELEASE Sign-up for Newsletter

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.