VALENCIA 2012 Indianapolis Grand Prix - Indianapolis - Preview - 14/08/2012

Date : 14/08/2012

Repsol Honda Team return to Indianapolis after Summer break

Fresh and fully recharged after a well-deserved two week summer break, the Repsol Honda Team will be back in action this weekend for the second visit of the season to the United States. The legendary Indianapolis Motor Speedway hosts the MotoGP family for the fifth consecutive year, and marks the eleventh round of the 2012 World Championship.

The venue, in its short history in MotoGP, has been good to the Repsol Honda Team. Dani Pedrosa (one pole position, one victory and one second place) and Casey Stoner (one pole and one victory) have been the last two winners of the Red Bull Indianapolis Grand Prix. Dani won in 2010 with a clear margin of 3.5 seconds ahead of local hero Ben Spies, and Casey crossed the finish line in first place last year in front of Dani.

This year the engine power of the RC213V 1000cc machines will make a difference on the long straight of 0,872 kms. The changes in the asphalt, a very fast first turn and continuous changes in direction are in the DNA of this tight and technical track, world-renowned for the famous oval and the Brickyard.

The Repsol Honda Team celebrated their 300th podium at Laguna Seca and will aim to return after the holidays to increase this number with both riders fighting for the Championship, where Dani Pedrosa is currently second in the standings, 23 points from the lead, and Casey Stoner, third, 9 points behind his team mate.

DANI PEDROSA – World Championship Position: 2nd with 182 points
"I had a very good summer break; in these two weeks I was able to relax a little, enjoy time with friends and get back into my training. At this time of year, Indianapolis is normally very hot so fitness is always key. I enjoy riding at this track and I've had good results in the past. I am really looking forward to this race and will fight to win and maintain the consistency we have showed in the first part of the Championship".
CASEY STONER – World Championship Position: 3rd with 173 points
"After the great win in Laguna, we've had a nice break in the U.S, it's always good to take some time off here and spend some time with some friends. I'm not the biggest fan of Indy, mainly because we don't go on the historical track but the infield and in the wrong direction! The track is very flat and plain, also very tight. There are a couple of corners that can be fun but the majority are difficult, tight and there isn't any natural flow to the track. It's nice to visit a track with such great history but it's a shame we don't really experience any of that. We've had some good results there and won last year, but we'll have to wait until we get there to see how the RC213V will work around there this year".

Championship standings
1 Jorge Lorenzo 205 pts SPA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing Team
2 Dani Pedrosa 182 pts SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
3 Casey Stoner 173 pts AUS HONDA Repsol Honda Team
4 Andrea Dovizioso 121 pts ITA YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
5 Cal Crutchlow 106 pts GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
6 Nicky Hayden 84 pts USA DUCATI Ducati Team
7 Stefan Bradl 84 pts GER HONDA LCR Honda MotoGP
8 Valentino Rossi 82 pts ITA DUCATI Ducati Team
9 Alvaro Bautista 81 pts SPA HONDA San Carlo Honda Gresini
10 Ben Spies 66 pts USA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing Team
11 Hector Barbera 60 pts SPA DUCATI Pramac Racing
12 Aleix Espargaro 33 pts ESP ART Aspar Team MotoGP
13 Randy De Puniet 33 pts FRA ART Aspar Team MotoGP
14 Michelle Pirro 16 pts ITA HONDA San Carlo Honda Gresini
15 Mattia Pasini 13 pts ITA ART Speed Master
16 James Ellison 12 pts GBR ART Paul Bird Racing
17 Colin Edwards 11 pts USA SUTER NGM Mobile Forward Racing
18 Yonny Hernandez 10 pts COL BQR-FTR BQR
19 Karel Abraham 10 pts CZE DUCATI Cardion AB Motoracing
20 Danillo Petrucci 9 pts ITA IODA Ioda Racing Project
21 Ivan Silva 7 pts SPA BQR-FTR BQR
22 Franco Battaini 0 pts ITA DUCATI Ducati Team
23 Chris Vermeulen 0 pts AUS SUTER NGM Mobile Forward Racing

Circuit information
First race 2008
GPs held 4
Laps 28
Race distance 118.1km / 73.4miles
Track length 4.216km / 2.62miles
Track width 16m
Longest straight 0.872km / 0.542miles
Corners 16 (6 right, 10 left)
Pole position Left

Sepang International Circuit

Circuit records
Pole position 1m38.850s (153.541 Km/h) Casey Stoner (Honda, 2011)
Race lap 1m39.807s (152.069 Km/h) Casey Stoner (Honda, 2011)
Race time 46m52.786s (149.976 Km/h) Casey Stoner (Honda, 2011)
MotoGP Wins 1 (Valentino Rossi, 2008), 1 (Jorge Lorenzo, 2009), 1 (Dani Pedrosa 2010), 1 (Casey Stoner 2011)
2011 Winner Casey Stoner (Honda)
2010 Winner Dani Pedrosa (Honda)
PRESS RELEASE Sign-up for Newsletter

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.