netherlands 2012 TT Assen - Assen - Preview - 25/06/2012

Date : 25/06/2012

Repsol Honda Team positive as trio of races commence

The Repsol Honda Team travel to the north of Europe this week in preparation for the seventh round of the MotoGP World Championship. 

The Netherlands is the destination for the legendary Dutch TT in Assen, where both Casey Stoner and Dani Pedrosa will be challenging for victory as the Championship enters a very busy period with three races in a row.

As in the UK, the weather can be very changeable in Assen, but both Honda factory riders will be determined and confident following the double podium they shared at Silverstone on their first race with the new Bridgestone front tyre.

With modifications made in 2006, the Assen circuit has been shortened slightly but it maintains fast changes in direction over the old part of the track where an agile bike is needed and the banked turns make it a spectacle for the fans.

Casey Stoner, who won the Dutch TT in 2008, has celebrated six podiums in Assen and since 2007 has not failed to reach it. Dani Pedrosa, injured last year, also has six podium finishes, with three in the premier class.

CASEY STONER –World Championship Position: 2nd with 115 points
"We've had some great results in Assen, but also some pretty bad ones, so hopefully we can go there this weekend, be competitive and avoid any injury like last year when I hurt my neck, which followed us for the season and still causes me problems now. You spend a lot of the time on the edge of the tyre in Assen and unfortunately on our bike at the moment this is a weak point, so we will need to work on Thursday and Friday to improve before we can consider ourselves competitive there. I really hope the weather is good for us, as we need as much track time as possible to work on various issues on the bike. With three races back to back, it's important to get some good results at Assen, Sachsenring and Mugello, so we need to remain focused".

DANI PEDROSA –World Championship Position: 3rd with 101 points
"I wasn't there last year due to the injury, but it's a circuit we know well. Assen has changeable weather so I hope we can have some dry sessions  to continue setting up the bike and making it more rideable. We need some more experience with the new front tyre and hopefully we can make another step forward this week. In Assen is important to have a good feeling with the tyres because there are several fast corners. I am really looking forward to this race and aiming to ride at my best".
Championship standings
1 Jorge Lorenzo 140 pts SPA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing Team
2 Casey Stoner 115 pts AUS HONDA Repsol Honda Team
3 Dani Pedrosa 101 pts SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
4 Cal Crutchlow 66 pts GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
5 Andrea Dovizioso
60 pts
ITA YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
6 Valentino Rossi 58 pts ITA DUCATI Ducati Team
7 Alvaro Bautista 58 pts SPA HONDA San Carlo Honda Gresini
8 Stefan Bradl 51 pts GER HONDA LCR Honda MotoGP
9 Nicky Hayden 49 pts USA DUCATI Ducati Team
10 Hector Barbera 37 pts SPA DUCATI Pramac Racing
11 Ben Spies 35 pts USA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing Team
12 Aleix Espargaro 20 pts ESP ART Aspar Team MotoGP
13 Randy De Puniet 11 pts FRA ART Aspar Team MotoGP
14 Michelle Pirro 9 pts ITA HONDA San Carlo Honda Gresini
15 James Ellison 7 pts GBR ART Paul Bird Racing
16 Mattia Pasini 6 pts ITA ART Speed Master
17 Danillo Petrucci 4 pts ITA IODA Ioda Racing Project
18 Yonny Hernandez 4 pts COL BQR-FTR BQR
19 Colin Edwards 4 pts USA SUTER NGM Mobile Forward Racing
20 Karel Abraham 4 pts CZE DUCATI Cardion AB Motoracing
21 Ivan Silva 1 pts SPA BQR-FTR BQR
22 Chris Vermeulen 0 pts AUS SUTER NGM Mobile Forward Racing

Circuit information
First race 1949 (Modified 2010)
GPs held 63
Laps 26
Race distance 118.430km / 73.580miles
Track length 4.542km / 2.822 miles
Track width 10-14m
Longest straight 0.487km / 0.303miles
Corners 18 (12 right, 6 left)
Pole position Left

Sepang International Circuit

Circuit records
Pole position 1m34.515s (173.001Km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2010)
Race lap 1m34.525s (172.982Km/h) Dani Pedrosa (Honda, 2010)
2010 Race time 41'18.629 Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)
Race time 6 (Giacomo Agostini 1968-72, 1974)
2011 Winner Ben Spies (Yamaha)
PRESS RELEASE Sign-up for Newsletter

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.