2000 - 2007


Honda launches its first big twin supersport bike, the VTR1000, which Colin Edwards takes to a debut victory in the World Superbike Championship. The VTR1000SPW also wins the Suzuka Eight Hours with Toru Ukawa and Daijiro Kato. Premier-class debutant Valentino Rossi joins Honda and finishes second in the 500 World Championship aboard his NSR500. Frederic Bolley wins second consecutive 250 MX world title on CR250R. Dougie Lampkin wins the first of four back-to-back Trials World Championships.

Valentino Rossi MotoGP British GP 2002 Honda RC211V / Colin Edwards Superbike Australia 2000 Honda VTR 1000


Valentino Rossi closes GP racing's 500 era by winning the final 500 World Championship aboard his NSR500. The Italian superstar also wins Honda's 500th GP victory at the Japanese Grand Prix and wins the Suzuka Eight Hours riding a VTR1000SPW with partner Colin Edwards. Major Japanese talent Daijiro Kato wins the 250 World Championship aboard a Honda NSR250. RC211V MotoGP machine seen in public for the first time at Motegi, ridden by Honda legends Mick Doohan and Freddie Spencer.


Valentino Rossi wins inaugural MotoGP title aboard HRC's acclaimed RC211V. Honda also takes Constructors' World Championship by a large margin. The V5 - which takes motorcycle racing technology to a whole new level - wins all but two of the 16 GPs. Colin Edwards wins his second World Superbike Championship aboard the VTR1000SPW and backs that up with another Suzuka Eight Hours success, riding a VTR with Daijiro Kato. In the United States up-and-coming talent Nicky Hayden takes the US Superbike crown and Daytona 200 victory on a VTR. Frenchman Fabien Foret scores Honda's first World Supersport title riding a CBR600R. Suguru Kanazawa appointed HRC president.

Michael Doohan Czech Rep. GP 1994 / Takahisa Fujinami / Suguru Kanazawa HRC President 2002-2007


The RC211V once again dominates the MotoGP World Championship, winning 15 of 16 races. Valentino Rossi wins the riders' title ahead of fellow RC211V riders Sete Gibernau and Max Biaggi. RC211V equipped with rotary steering damper. Dani Pedrosa wins his first world title in the 125 class, aboard RS125R. The new CBR600RR, packed with HRC-derived MotoGP technology, wins the World Supersport title with Chris Vermeulen. Miguel Duhamel wins Daytona 200. Yukio Nukumi and Manabu Kamada give the VTR1000SPW its fourth consecutive Suzuka Eight Hours victory. Ricky Carmichael wins second consecutive US Supercross crown on CR250.


Honda completes hat-trick of MotoGP Constructors' World Championships with the RC211V, now equipped with Intelligent Throttle Control system. Dani Pedrosa wins 250 World Championship at his first attempt, with RS250RW. Italian youngster Andrea Dovizioso takes 125 crown on RS125R. Toru Ukawa/Hitoyasu Izutsu give the inline four CBR1000RR Fireblade its first Suzuka Eight Hours success. Aussie Karl Muggeridge wins Supersport world title on CBR600RR. Takahisa Fujinami wins Trials World Championship. Satoru Horiike appointed managing director of HRC.

Daijiro Kato 250cc British GP 2001 Honda NSR250 / Daniel Pedrosa 250cc GP Doha 2005 Honda RS250RW


Dani Pedrosa wins second consecutive 250 World Championship, which gives Honda its 15th 250 riders' crown and 19th 250 constructors' title. Swiss Thomas Luthi takes 125 World Championship aboard RS125R. Toru Ukawa and Ryuichi Kiyonari win Honda's 20th Suzuka Eight Hours victory on a CBR1000RR. CBR600RR continues to dominate middleweight supersport racing, Sebastien Charpentier taking the Supersport world title and Miguel Duhamel winning Honda's tenth Daytona 200 success.


Nicky Hayden wins the final 990cc MotoGP title, riding new generation RC211V using lighter, more powerful V5 engine. The Kentucky Kid also wins Honda's 200th premier-class victory at the Dutch TT. This is Honda's 14th premier-class riders' title and 17th constructors' crown. During MotoGP's five-year 990cc era the V5 won an astonishing 58 per cent of the races. At the Sachsenring Yuki Takahashi secures Honda's double-century of 250cc class victories. Another great year for the CBR600RR, Sebastien Charpentier takes second successive Supersport world title and Jake Zemke wins Daytona 200. Takeshi Tsujimura and Shinichi Itoh win Honda's tenth Suzuka Eight Hours win in a row, riding CBR1000RR.

Nicky Hayden MotoGP Assen Honda RC211V / Nicky Hayen MotoGP Valencia 2006


New MotoGP technical rules reduce engine capacity to 800cc. HRC introduce the RC212V 800cc four-stroke V4. Masumi Hamane appointed president of HRC.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.