1995 - 1999


RC45 four-stroke scores more major international successes with Belgian Stephane Mertens and Frenchman Jean-Michel Mattioli winning the World Endurance Championship, Miguel Duhamel taking the US Superbike title and Aaron Slight and Tadayuki Okada winning the Suzuka Eight Hours race. Haruchika Aoki scores the first of back-to-back 125 World Championships aboard Honda RS125. Alessandro Puzar wins 125 MX crown.

Honda RC45 Superbike 1997


Mick Doohan, Alex Criville, Luca Cadalora, Alex Barros and the NSR500 take the top four places in 500 World Championship, the NSR500 wins 13 of 15 GPs. Haruchika Aoki scores second 125 title. Miguel Duhamel wins Daytona 200 on RC45. NSR500V twin, ridden by Tadayuki Okada, scores pole position on GP debut. Stefan Everts wins the first of two back-to-back 250 MX world prizes aboard CR250. Jeremy McGrath and CR250 win fourth US Supercross title in a row, taking Honda's unique run of success to nine consecutive crowns.


Mick Doohan wins fourth 500 title riding NSR500 with 'screamer' firing order. Honda machines monopolise top five places in series, Doohan, Tadayuki Okada, Nobuatsu Aoki and Alex Criville on NSR500s, Takuma Aoki is fifth on NSR500V twin. The NSR500 wins all 15 GPs, Honda wins tenth premier class constructors' World Championship. Max Biaggi joins Honda and wins 250 title on NSR250. Production version of NSR500V goes on sale. RC45 continues to dominate four-stroke racing, John Kocinski wins World Superbike crown, while Japanese stars Shinichi Itoh and Toru Ukawa win Suzuka Eight Hours. Stefan Everts retains 250 MX crown.

Joey Dunlop TTF1 1985 Honda VFR750


Led once again by the mighty Mick Doohan, NSR500 riders dominate the 500 World Championship, taking the top five places in the points chase. HRC introduces new twin crank NSR250 which Toru Ukawa rides to fourth place in 250 World Championship. More success for the RC45: Doug Polen and Christian Laveille win the world endurance prize, Shinichi Itoh and Toru Ukawa score second successive Suzuka Eight Hours and Ben Bostrom takes US Superbike crown. Yasuo Ikenoya takes over as new president of HRC.


Quietly spoken Spaniard Alex Criville and his NSR500 wrap up Honda's tenth riders' 500 World Championship, following Mick Doohan's exit from the sport due to injury. Emilio Alzamora and RS125R win 125 World Championship, Honda's tenth 125 riders' prize. Tadayuki Okada and Alex Barros win the Suzuka Eight Hours, Miguel Duhamel wins the Daytona 200, all on the hugely successful RC45.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.