1982 - 1985


Honda Racing Corporation founded on September 1, replacing RSC (which was established as a separate entity from Honda Motor Co. Ltd in 1973) and the NR technology group. Legendary engineer Shoichiro Irimajiri is first HRC president. NS500 triple unleashed. Freddie Spencer wins Honda's first two-stroke Grand Prix victory aboard the NS at July's Belgium GP. Cyril Nevue wins Honda's first Paris-Dakar victory. Eddy Lejeune wins first World Trials Championship with Honda RTL360. Shigeo Ijima, Shinji Hagiwara and CB900F win Suzuka Eight Hours (shortened to six hours due to typhoon). Pro-link rear suspension and cartridge fork developed in motocross.


The wondrously talented Freddie Spencer wins Honda's first 500 World Championship with the NS500, a beautifully balanced motorcycle that encapsulates HRC's philosophy of creating machines that deliver all-round performance. ATAC exhaust system developed on NS500. King of the Roads Joey Dunlop wins Honda's fourth title in the road-based TTF1 World Championship with the RS850R V4 four-stroke. Honda begins sales of RS500 GP production racer, based on NS500. Hiroyuki Yoshino succeeds Irimajiri as HRC president.

1982 Honda NS500 / Freddie Spencer San Marino 1983 Podium


Honda debuts the awesomely fast single-crank V4 NSR500, with experimental underslung fuel tank, which an injury-hit Freddie Spencer takes to fourth place in the 500 World Championship. RS750R rams home Honda's four-stroke genius with Gerard Coudray and Patrick Igoa winning World Endurance crown, Mike Baldwin and Fred Merkel taking Suzuka Eight Hours victory and Joey Dunlop the TTF1 crown. Andre Malherbe wins second 500 Motocross World Championship. Eddy Lejeune completes hat-trick of World Trials Championships. Ricky Graham wins Honda's first US Grand National dirt track title.


Freddie Spencer and Honda enjoy their greatest year together, taking a unique 250/500 World Championship double with the NSR500 and the new NSR250 V-twin. For good measure, Spencer wins Daytona 200 aboard a VF750F superbike. Stunning new RVF750 wins endurance crown with Gerard Coudray and Patrick Igoa, TTF1 title with Joey Dunlop and Suzuka Eight Hours with Wayne Gardner and Masaki Tokuno. Mike Baldwin and Honda win fourth US F1 title in a row. Britain's Prince Charles and Princess Diana inspect HRC race bikes during official visit to newly built Honda Motor HQ in Aoyama, Tokyo. Isamu Goto appointed HRC president.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.